Day 2 – processing what lies ahead

September 24, 2006 at 3:23 pm Leave a comment

Well, I worked out yesterday and did generally well, although I think I ate too much at night (I’m trying to not eat after 8pm in an effort to shed some pounds pre-IVF) J

 

Today, I have been reading a lot and familiarizing myself with the whole IVF process. There is so much to know. I went through all the information given to us at the orientation at our lab – there are so many things to read and to sign and to decide on. It certainly helps to be organized and on top of things way ahead of time.

 

The way I figure now (although I will know for sure tomorrow), I will be starting lupron on Oct 14th (day 21) and if I have the perfect cycle with AF arriving on time, I will probably start stimming on Oct 21st. I am figuring ER will fall somewhere between Oct 31st and November 4th. I wish I could know all the dates ahead of time, but of course it is impossible.

 

I am a little concerned since I *might* be starting a new job in that time period. I don’t know yet how I might juggle all that. It would be so sweet to have ER on a Sunday and have the 5 day ET on the Friday following to be able to relax all weekend with minimal time off work. But something tells me I won’t be that lucky.

 

Emotionally I am feeling so many things. In a way there is a slight sense of sadness that conception did not occur naturally, especially for our first. I might be under some ill-conceived notion that it might have been easier if this was all happening for our second, so we had at least experienced a problem-free natural pregnancy as our first time. But on the other hand where you lose something you also gain something. There are things that will become possible with what we’re doing that would never have been possible naturally, and I am excited about actually being able to see, and be involved with the creation of our child from such an early stage, literally from conception – should we be successful. I must admit, that amidst all my feelings, the most prevalent one is definitely the excitement. It is almost impossible not to be excited at the thought that by Thanksgiving we could actually be expecting. It feels so real, and I have an incredible sense of hope. If everything goes well, I would not be able to ask for a better Christmas, or an ending to this rough year.

Entry filed under: All Posts, Day by Day.

IVF success rate and your chance that it will work Day 3 – official decision

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
September 2006
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 79,626 hits

