Day 31 (cycle day 3): Timing worries.

October 23, 2006 at 10:04 pm 6 comments

IVF. You just don’t know how its gonna go. As much as I know that all that matters in the end is just the outcome, I still can’t help worrying about the nitty gritty. How can I not? I’m right in it!
And right now I’ve been worried about timing issues. Because of work logistics it would really benefit me to have everything behind me (including transfer and bedrest) before mid-november. Will that be pulled off? All it takes is a little delay here and there and I’m done for. If I’m not ready to stim by Friday, if I stim for longer than expected, if transfer is on day 5 (as planned), I can easily see how this will spill past mid-Nov. Because of projects and deadlines, this will really not benefit me. But we all know how karma works.

I know that worrying about it will not help a thing. My body will simply do what it wants to. But at the very least I can brain storm about my plan Bs and Cs. Not that I can really think of many.

As the stimming phase of the cycle draws nearer, so does the unknown. I sorta dread my appt on Thursday. I dread having to wait for that usual phone call that spells out my fate. Ready to stim, or not.

In a way, I just wish I could go there and demand that they take a look today. Maybe I’m ready already! I have seen sample cycles online where stims begin right after AF. How come I have to wait till what will be day 6 or 7 of my cycle to start stimming? That just seems counter-intuitive. I keep wanting to call and ask “hey, are you sure I can’t come in sooner?” But I know I would only get rushed off the phone with standard replies.

I guess there is no other way out of this, other than to wait. I guess I’ll be having a lot of practice waiting before all this is over.

Shot number 11 was administered a few hours ago. Ouch! That darn needle bounced right off my skin when DH tried to pierce me. What’s this now, is my body developing some sort of resistance to being injected as well?

I guess Thursday can’t come soon enough. And yet… I dread it coming.

Entry filed under: All Posts, Day by Day.

Day 30 (cycle day2) – this is what you call LIGHT??? Day 32 (cycle day 4) – Bitter and grateful.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  October 23, 2006 at 10:47 pm

    Yep, you never know how an IVF cycle will go. My body wanted to grow those follicles faster than the doctors had anticipated so instead of retrieval on Wednesday, it happened today. And hopefully, transfer will happen on Saturday (Day 5) for the obvious reason that Day 5 would be better, but also I’d only maybe miss one day of work (on Monday) if I take the 3 days that they suggested for bed rest. I’ve already missed so many days of work already!

    Good luck on Thursday. This waiting stuff is just here to drive us crazy!

    Reply
  • 2. makariya  |  October 24, 2006 at 8:35 am

    Thanks for your encouraging words on my blog. It looks like we are going through pretty much the same thought and worry process. I know that worrying is not going to help and I do try to take it one day at a time but I can’t stop thinking about all the things that could go wrong. What’s even more interesting, every day I wake up with more and more stuff to worry about. I did experience the same thing with the shots couple of days ago; I even got a tiny blue mark to prove it. However, yesterday my DH did two shots (both in my stomach) and it was impeccable. According to him he finally figured out this whole stabbing thing, his advice is to put the needle in as fast as possible, kind of like throwing a dart. Good luck with your stims on Thursday.

    Reply
  • 3. hopefulmother  |  October 24, 2006 at 9:11 am

    Makariya is right – the key to the injections is the dart method. I have one spot on my left tummy that is bruised because hubby tried to put the needle in too slowly.

    I, too, hate the waiting, but this time around I’m trying not to worry as much since it is pretty much all out of our control!

    Hope things continue to go well for you!

    Reply
  • 4. Lut C.  |  October 24, 2006 at 1:24 pm

    The lupron puts your cycle on hold. So even though it will be a week since your period, your body is still in CD1-mode until you start stimming. At least, that’s how I understand it.

    Still waiting for my period here, no sign of it.

    Reply
  • 5. taz  |  October 25, 2006 at 8:25 am

    Just wanted to wish you well! Saw your link on your post. Don’t worry about the injection bouncing off. Some of them do that. It’s a pain, but normal.

    Reply
  • 6. Jys  |  October 25, 2006 at 8:23 pm

    Guys thanks so much for all your comments – I’m trying to visit all ya’lls blogs but I keep getting errors – what’s up with that! I can only get to Heather’s blog, and it is strange cause she’s using blogger too.

    Anyway, Lut, thanks for the clarification on lupron. I HOPE my body’s on hold – can’t believe my appointment is coming up.

    Heather, congratulations on ER!! (I did leave comment on your blog)

    Makariya, Hopefulmother, its pretty crazy to think that using something like a dart hurts the least, isn’t it?
    My next shot was MUCH better.

    Taz, thanks for visiting! Can’t get to your blog, but hoping blogger resolves their issue soon!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 79,963 hits

