Day 34 (cycle day 6) – Baseline Bloodwork Results.

October 26, 2006 at 10:53 pm 5 comments

What an eventful day!This morning we went to get my blood taken. It was relatively quick and we were barely there long enough to ask all our questions. But we figured that’s OK, since we are back tomorrow for the u/s anyway and will be able to ask then.

The nurse said that the plan is for me to have the u/s tomorrow and then start stims on Sat if all is good. She said they would check my blood and will call me ONLY if something’s amiss and isn’t right and plans need to be changed. But she said that the fact that I have bled is a good sign and that everything is normal and she does not expect to call me at all.

In the afternoon I eyed the phone suspiciously several times, but around 3pm I breathed a sigh of relief, since there was no call and I know that they usually get back to patients by that time.

I sighed too soon. Three seconds later the phone was ringing.

I was like “NO way!”. I hope this doesn’t set the tone of the cycle with all the constant curveballs.

The news was that my progesterone came back a little high at 1.6. The nurse said that the doc says it will still be OK to start stimming but they want to push my start date to Sunday now. I will still come in for my u/s tomorrow as scheduled.

OK, I guess one day delay I can live with. Although its nutty how much this has been pushed from the day I had originally expected. Heck, I thought we’d possibly be doing the RETRIEVAL on the 29th originally!! I can’t believe that this would mean I was on Lupron for a total of 16 days before starting stims! And I had thought it would be about 8 – ha. I sure hope there aren’t any more delays and that things flow smooth from here on. Overall, I realize that todays’ news was not TOO big of a deal – at this stage there isn’t that much that could go too drastically wrong, but the more the cycle progresses the more of a cliff-hanger it becomes. I sure hope that this is the last of the dissappointments.

Later in the day I went for the orientation at the IVF lab again to turn in my paperwork. Boy was I glad I went to it a second time – there was so much we had missed when we came in late that first time!!

It was a full house again and packed with IVFers. Also it was a completely different team this time – different embryologist and nurse.

They talked about the state of the art security system at the lab and about their strict procedures to ensure that the safety and the identification of the embryos is never compromised. I was impressed. They showed photos of the lab, the ER/ET procedure and went step by step through the whole process. They also talked about the embryos a lot and showed pictures of different cases and scenarios so that you would know exactly what they are talking about when they call you with information. As an example they showed photos of immature eggs and explained why they don’t fertilize. They also showed photos of eggs that weren’t fertilized properly. They explained the grading system of blasts and embies and showed examples. They also talked about multiples, the risks involved and explained why they always aim for one baby. The nurse of course, went over her presentation on what to expect on the day of ER and ET, how to prepare and how the day would go.

Overall, I was pretty happy I went the second time. The information kind of settled in. I think I enjoyed it better than the first time and got a lot more out of it.

Back home, I did a little research on P4 levels. I read that they need to be less than 1.5 in the follicular phase of the cycle and that some studies have shown that higher levels could be linked to diminishing ovarian reserve. Oh, the panic. Why do I even read those things?

I decided in the end to stop looking into it this much. It is good to be informed and know what is going on with your body but there is definitely a case of looking into it TOO much. I mean I’m already doing IVF this cycle so what more can I do, right?

I had thought about asking on my next appt what my FSH level was this time, but have since thought better of it. Ignorance is bliss and if I find out that it has sky-rocketed since my previous reading it will only worry me. As it is, I’m already doing an IVF cycle, so there’s no more that I can do. I figure instead, if I am hopefully successful, I’ll ask them in hindsight what it was, to keep for my records. But not going to worry myself now.

All in all, an eventful IVF day. And tomorrow I get to count the antral candidates! I sure hope there’s a lot of them…. and if there’s less than I would hope… well, not gonna think it right now. One day at a time.

Entry filed under: All Posts, Day by Day.

Day 33 (cycle day 5) – something for me. Day 35 (cycle day 7) – baseline ultrasound.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. makariya  |  October 27, 2006 at 11:50 am

    I hope you had a great u/s today with lots of candidates. I so agree with your post. We are already doing it. I do feel like I try to google answers for every little thing. And I do agree that it starts to feel like too much. Every day I pledge that I would take it one day at a time, there is so much that we can do at his point. Good luck with you u/s tomorrow. Your IVF lab orientation sounds very useful and interesting. Iā€™m not sure if my clinic even has that. We were only told and required to take IVF/injection class.

    Reply
  • 2. hopefulmother  |  October 27, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    One day at a time is right! Try to stay positive and not too analytical (that is my strategy this time!)

    Reply
  • 3. Lut C.  |  October 28, 2006 at 4:03 am

    Wow, you got an entire seminar on the IVF process? How interesting.

    FSH is not a very good predictor of ovarian reserve. Antral follicle counts are much more relevant. Did they tell you how many antral follicles you had at the suppression check?
    You’re right not to worry about it too much right now. You are already doing IVF, and that’s your best option regardless.

    Reply
  • 4. Josie  |  October 29, 2006 at 11:21 am

    Hello – new here, so hello! My clinic also doesn’t call unless there is a problem/change. I HATE that – I wish I at least knew that they would call by a certain time if there were going to call at all becasue the waiting and obsessing is such a PIA. This is our 2nd IVF and I tried to call on Dr. Google a lot less for “research” and it made me so much more relaxed. One day at a time is a great strategy!

    Reply
  • 5. Jys  |  October 29, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    thanks ladies for all the comments!
    Josie, do you have a blog I can go look at?
    I am trying my best not to be too analytical – it sure is hard, I’m so used to dissecting all the information I have down to the molecule šŸ˜€
    But so far so good šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 79,261 hits

