Day 41 (cycle day 13) – First u/s, and worries.

November 2, 2006 at 6:18 pm 6 comments

The short story: things aren’t going quite as smoothly as I wish.

The long story:

So this morning, I was getting kind of nervous before my first monitoring appt.

What will they find? How am I doing?

Luckily I was about to find out bright and early at 8:15 am, and DH was going with me for support to boot.

I got there on time (amazing considering how late I was running) and things started going pretty quickly.

My blood was taken and then I was getting ready for the u/s. I was upset that DH wasn’t there yet (he was driving behind me). But he got there in the middle of my u/s and the nurse let him in.

I was shocked that today my actual RE did the u/s. Usually it is always the u/s tech and I only have seen RE at consults in my entire time there. But apparently the u/s tech was out so my doc did the u/s.

First he looked at the lining and that was my good news for the day. It was triple striped and he said it looks great. I didn’t even ask how thick it was. The u/s was kinda painful. I was of course concerned to see what my ovaries were doing.

Basically I have 7 follies on the left between 10-15mm and and 7 on the right between 10-13mm. I have a lead follie on the left at 15mm already! :O I didn’t quite get whether he was concerned about it, but I certainly was. He said that the rest seem to be doing OK and we will likely lower my dose of meds and ignore that one.

I would know just by how much meds would change after my bloodwork came back.

He also said ER will likely be moved up to Monday or Tuesday!! (from the original estimated day of Thursday). He said my body just goes faster and that everyone is different.

I left feeling torn on whether to be happy or freaked. On one hand I was glad that its looking like ER will be sooner and that I’ll have to take less meds. On the other hand I was concerned about egg quality (I hear its better to stim slowly for good quality) and I was especially freaked out about the lead folly.

Of course after about 2:30pm I started eyeing my phone which was definitely NOT ringing. By 3:30 I was sorta freaking out. I always feel that a late call is usually bad news. When there’s good news or no news I get a call immediately.

They finally called me after 4. My new dose goes down to 100 units!! (That’s THREE times less!). DH and I were trying to guess before hand what it would be, and both guessed it will go down to 225. I would never have expected 100!!!

I asked what my e2 level was and she said it was 1000 already!!! Now I don’t know much about e2 levels, but I do believe that for only 4 days of stimming this is rather high. She said it was kinda high, but said I should not be concerned (yeah right – they had told me in the past that everything might turn out OK and things may turn around, even as I was so obviously miscarrying.) In short, that didn’t comfort me much.

For the first time I started seeing visions of my cycle being cancelled. What if my lead folly eats up all the meds and the rest don’t even grow by Sat? I don’t know what’s worse to have the cycle cancelled, or to go through with it and have a bad outcome because my eggs didnt cook enough (and have spent all the $$$$).

I wish I’d stop thinking negative, but its so hard. I don’t want to set myself up with false hopes if things might not turn out.

Somehow I hadn’t ever considered what happens if the cycle gets cancelled. I seem to have planned my entire life around this. And around what would hopefully be a successful outcome, even though its not any kind of 100% chance. But who doesn’t want to hope…. 😦

I hope that I am upset needlessly and that things will be just fine. But if not, I’d rather prep myself early for the possibility that things may go wrong.

It’s so much easier when you are being told that you are having a poster perfect cycle and everything is as expected. Instead so far, there’s always seem to be slight problems. Not enough to call it quits and yet not exactly perfect either.

Well, all I can do is slow down (both emotionally and meds-wise) and take it one day at a time. I don’t know what awaits and how this story gets written. But all I hope is that there will be at least SOME point when it’s not nerve wracking. Wishful thinking?

Entry filed under: All Posts, Day by Day.

Day 40 (cycle day 12) – Saving meds Day 42 (cycle day 14) – Day of guessing and obsessing

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mel  |  November 2, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    good idea to take it one day at a time. try and relax. i know its hard to do that when your cycle may be cancelled. I hope that everything goes ok.

    Reply
  • 2. Josie  |  November 3, 2006 at 9:53 am

    I have determined that the perfect cycle does not exist and everyone is different. You have 14 follies (which is awesome) ! SOmetimes is can be soothing to read about others protocols but at other times it can be frusterating if your cycle is not progressing the same. Take care of yourself!

    Reply
  • 3. Heather  |  November 3, 2006 at 3:49 pm

    I also had a lead folly that I was really concerned about, but the doctors didn’t change the stim medication for me – but I did have ER earlier than they had anticipated.

    I hope that everything works itself out with you.

    Reply
  • 4. Lut C.  |  November 3, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    All this waiting and seeing gets to you sometimes. Hang in there!

    Reply
  • 5. Shazz  |  November 3, 2006 at 10:27 pm

    This is a long road that seems to go on forever. It will be all worth it in the end with hopefully some good news!! I have it all crossed for you and sending strength.

    Reply
  • 6. Jys  |  November 4, 2006 at 7:42 am

    Thanks ladies, all this support means so much to me. It’s just such a warm feeling when someone visits your blog and sends you encouragement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 79,963 hits

