Day 49 (cycle day 21) – First PIO shot and more.

November 10, 2006 at 9:05 pm 1 comment

This morning I stepped on the scale. 4 pounds lighter. Whoohoo! Is some of that stim weight going down? More importantly I don’t have to worry about OHSS another day.

I got ready for work.

Yesterday Dh and I talked about our little fertilized eggs quite a bit. Can we help it? It is just surreal to me that right now we have 15 little lifeforms in an incubator that are the product of Dh and me. For someone who has been trying to be a parent for as long as we have, its hard not to feel an emotional thrill from that feeling. I never quite knew what this would feel like. That each one of them, a unique set of predestined genetic combinations from DH and me. Boys? Girls? Eye colors? Traits? Personalities? 15 different ones!

Not to worry. I’m not going to be that attached or sentimental, knowing full well that the number of surviving embies may change drastically by Monday and even by Saturday. I am only enjoying the moment for what it is. A surreal unique and special moment, that is one of the tiny benefits of going through IVF. We gotta grab all we can.

We know full well, that even if we wanted to, there is no way we could have 15 children, and unfortunately some of those little embies will never make it to live in this world. But just the thought or fantasy of it, is a nice one that we can hold on to for at least the next 24 hours, before the next big apprehensive wave of news.

Luckily I didn’t spend much of the day thinking about them. So much was going on at work and it completely engrossed me.

Then in the evening, it was back to shots again. Ah, those blissful days when I didn’t have to have any.

I was apprehensive of the new needle. Tummy shots, I am now used to – no problem. But here was finally the dreaded PIO shot that everyone talks about. How could I not be nervous?

DH had done his homework and totally researched PIO shots and talked to the nurse earlier to be confident enough to tell me not to worry about a thing and calm down. He took care of everything and I just spent my time icing the spot and deciding which position to be in. NOthing seemed good enough. Somehow the thought of knowing that a long needle is going to be stuck in me wasn’t fun. I wanted my tummy shots back.

I decided in the end to lie down on the bed and be completely relaxed. For a fleating second I kind of wished I could be “out” for it, the way I was for retrieval. Hehe. This is what being apprehensive of a “dreaded” shot does to you.

But guess what? I felt him stretch the skin, and the pressure of something entering – quite similar to feeling a dentist work around a numb area. Apparently my bum was iced enough to be good breeding ground for Antartic penguins. Cause I felt absolutely no pain. Not any.

He was obviously done, cause I could feel him massaging the area.  He then gave me a heating pad to lay on, and we just lay in bed for a while talking.

At least I wasn’t the only one who got stuck with a needle today – he had a flu shot. Finally. Some comradery. We both could whine about needles for the day 🙂

No seriously, it was NO BIG DEAL.

The much bigger deal will be tomorrow…. when we find out what our little embies have done.

Entry filed under: All Posts, Day by Day.

Day 48 (cycle day 20) – Fertilization! Day 50 (cycle day 22) – Embie Update!!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Josie  |  November 11, 2006 at 7:48 am

    It is nice that you realize the happiness during the agonizing waiting between steps.

    The PIO shots really are not that bad, Becasue I am a bit of a, um, well, control freak, I do my own and I don’t even feel the needle once it breaks skin. Just make sure to really massage the area after becasue if you don’t a lump could form and that is painful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 79,261 hits

