Day 53 (cycle day 25) – the Freeze!

November 14, 2006 at 6:35 pm 1 comment

I woke up at 7:30 and could not sleep anymore. Great, on my day off, I have to get up that early! But I guess its cause I spent half of yesterday lying down. You can’t say I did not get rest.

I weighed myself and was back down again. Good. For now.
Then I kind of wondered what to do. I needed to still be laying down and DH was still asleep.

I found ways to occupy myself and before I knew it the phone rang and it was the lab already with our final freeze report.

I was told that they had frozen six beautiful blasts for us. All for free. And also that the lab will give us our very first FET cycle free as well. Hmm, turned out that financially we actually became better off taking just one embie. Otherwise we would have had to pay for the freezing (and for the FET had we needed it).

DH and I tallied up our out of pocket costs for this IVF cycle at the end of the day, once our pharmacy confirmed the amount they will be returning to us, and we ended up just a little over 7K. That is still a crazy amount of money, but of course we were very happy that it ended up being less than the original 10K or so estimated.

I didn’t ask the lab about my other embies. I guess in a way I wish not to know. I can’t believe how attached I got to all of them. BUt I know that 6 having been frozen is so much more than I could have asked for when this cycle started. Never in my life would I have even dreamed that far.

I had asked the embryologist about their grading and he said they were about BBBs. But we will get all the detail in the final report mailed to us.

I was very happy with the news, and spent most of the day relaxing and just basking in every moment I could. It has gone by way too fast.

I know that the 2ww is the hardest, not to mention that the thought of going to work after a nice 4 day break is pretty hard too. I hope it takes my mind off waiting though – that will be one benefit.

I realize that as hard as I had it before ER, I was blessed with some great news and some great days between ER and ET, and I still feel like its not even real because I’m so used to bad news. But in the end nothing is over till the fat lady sings. I know just how (and have been there many MANY times) how even in the most awesome prognosis I ended up with curve balls and bad news. And only crying and wondering why.

So life definitely has a way to twisting stories. And I can never pretend to know the end.

I so much hope my one embie makes it. I have been faced with feelings of fear every so often that I can’t believe I only took one, when EVERYone I know always takes 2. Here I am, after all those shots, all that money, fifty three days of this journey, and at the climatic point, I actually take the route that lowers my chances.

But I will try to keep in mind that I now have 6 frozen “babies”. And that somehow, someway, I hope I end up bringing life into this world.

Entry filed under: All Posts, Day by Day.

Day 52 (cycle day 24) – My transfer!!! Day 54 (cycle day 26) – Back to the grind.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Leslie  |  November 15, 2006 at 8:35 pm

    You are one lucky lady!!

    Send some of your great embie dust my way. I think I am going to need it.

    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 79,261 hits

