19dpo – Beta 2!!

November 27, 2006 at 10:34 pm 5 comments

I am writing this with a delay (have not had a minute!!), but decided to date it back to the correct day. The long awaited day of my second beta!!!

In the morning I was calm. I knew that something could go wrong just like the last time, but I figured it is in God’s hands and there is nothing I can do. I wanted to believe, and inwardly I did, that it will all be OK.

The wait wasn’t too long (although the office was packed after the holidays) and they drew my blood quickly. The nurse explained that after such a long break, it is not uncommon to NOT see the numbers quite double just yet, since some women are on a 72 hour doubling schedule instead of 48. So she said to not freak out if they call me and ask me to come back on Wednesday again for another beta just to make sure that things are OK. She said this is very common and I should not be concerned.

I asked about the progesterone and about the next step. She said she would call and give instructions based on my results.
I gave her DH’s number. Once again, this was one of the calls I would much rather him take.

The blood draw was over quickly and I left thinking that I have 7 hours left till I know the result.

The first few were easy, but the last hour is always the hardest. That’s the time you endlessly go over all the possible outcomes in your head. I remembered this period the last time around and how nerve-wracking it was. It was what gave me my phobia for these phone calls. I remembered when that phonecall came where my number had not risen at all, and what a blow it was. How I had just stood in shock and disbelief and could not accept that this was happening to me.

I wondered what would be my fate this time around. Logically I had already calculated what the number “should” be in the ideal scenario. With 50 at 13dpo, it should have doubled to a 100 by 15dpo, to 200 by 17dpo and to 400 today. But no, I shouldn’t expect to be that lucky. Technically with a 72 hour doubling rate even a 200 should be good, right?

I psyched myself up to not be too terribly paranoid if the number came back less than 400. Anywhere in the 300 range at least I prayed.

DH and I had of course also prayed this morning that all would be well.

Finally I saw my phone ringing. DH was on the caller ID.
Here it was, my news…
I took a big breath and picked up…

He immediately calmed me (I have enough tension and certainly don’t like anymore) that things looked good.
Then he said…. guess what the freaking number was.

I was like.. what?! Heck, I don’t know. I can’t guess!! What, 250?

Try 670!

I almost fell flat on my face. 670!!!!!!! Really??? REALLY!???!
I wanted to dance for joy. My embie was still hanging in big time!!! OMG….. is this actually happening? Are we ACTUALLY looking at a possible baby here in 8 months?!

The number was apparently so good that they did not even want me to come back on Wednesday. They scheduled a sonogram for Dec 14th and asked me to reduce my progesterone doses at this point. The nurse had said that the result was really good, and I could not be more extatic.

DH and I went out to celebrate. While it is still so long from being to a point where I would start to feel a lot more safe, it still is wonderful to hear of excellent progress.

Its truly day to day. I love the good news, but I also can’t ever take it for granted.
In a way though, this makes every milestone that much more miraculous. Because I never just “expect” it.

DH said today that he is proud of our embie. Wow… so am I.
I will only pray… that the good news continues.

Entry filed under: All Posts, Day by Day.

17dpo – little glimpses of the possibility of joy 5wks 1 day – Out of Progesterone!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BeckyZ  |  November 28, 2006 at 7:15 pm

    Oh whew! I was worried that you got terrible news, but instead got great news and was just too excited to post! Great, great number.

    Reply
  • 2. Inglewood  |  November 28, 2006 at 7:28 pm

    Awesome number! Been checking in the past 2 days, got kinda worried, glad it was just your were busy. The news is amazing, once again, congrats!

    Reply
  • 3. Heather  |  November 28, 2006 at 8:38 pm

    That is so wonderful!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Lucycoco  |  November 28, 2006 at 9:26 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for the last few weeks. It’s been great because I’ve been just a few days behind you in the IVF process all along. Anyway, I wanted to say congratulations.

    Reply
  • 5. Jys  |  November 30, 2006 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks so much everyone! Have truly had so little time to post everything I want to….
    Lucycoco, do you have a blog I can check out?
    Good luck with your IVF journey!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 79,261 hits

