7wks 6days: First Ob/gyn appointment!

December 19, 2006 at 9:32 pm 4 comments

I went to my ob.gyn practice today as an official and bonified pregnant woman.
DH came along, even though I told him its optional. He was the only guy there. Kind of funny really, since he brought “How to make a pregnant woman happy” for reading material.

Once my information was updated I was taken in. The ob/gyn nurse went over a ton of information with me. In fact it was overwhelming. She gave us like 100 samples of vitamins to try. She went over the routine visits, screens and tests, and gave us a whole pile of material to read – from blood cord banking to post partum depression. There was even a mini “what to expect when you’re expecting” book. She talked to us and answered all the questions.

I expressed concern about my weight and asked if I should deliberately not lose any, or if weight loss is OK. She said that as long as the baby is doing good, weight loss is fine – obviously they don’t want me walking in and weighing 30 pounds less, but that if any weight loss results from eating healthily, exercising, which is all natural (no crash dieting) then its all good. That a body just does what it wants to during pregnancy.
Exercising was OK as long as there was no danger of injury to the tummy or falling.

The doctor saw us next. She was really happy to see me back there (from since I had miscarried). I told her everything that had happened to me since she last saw me, from all my IUIs to IVF. She said she has a great feeling that everything will go just perfect this time. Amazingly for the first time I suddenly realized that I have not really been anxious that something will go wrong. While I never “expect” without question that nothing will… somehow I don’t necessarily fear that something WOULD go wrong either. Maybe its just that feeling that after everything gone through, we simply DO deserve a healthy pregnancy and child at this point.

We did my pap and exam and she said right away that she defintiely sees that baby is growing.  

Although it wasn’t time for my official sonogram yet, since there was a machine in the room, the doctor said why not take a quick look – too tempting right? 🙂
This machine was not as clear as the other one at my RE office (she even apologized for its quality) but it was still apparent right away that the bean had GROWN! We could see the heart again, and this time the baby was measuring 13.6 already! (with being 10.6 just 5 days ago, that’s just amazing to me!)
I was so happy that all was well, although it still does kind of feel like an out-of-body experience.

After all that I had my blood drawn for the usual tests. Six vials of blood! Eik! Just how much blood did I end up giving this year? I don’t want to know.

The appointment did take quite a bit, but they told me its cause its the first one and next one shouldn’t. I’m supposed to go in every month, but my next appointment is actually in 2 weeks, since I didn’t get my butt in there till 8 weeks (and they start at 6).
Yup.. 8 weeks tomorrow. Unbelievable. Today’s a month since I found out I’m pregnant.. and it still feels surreal.

Although the queasiness certainly doesn’t. I hesitate to call it nausea, but it is definitely SOMEthing. Something not pleasant by any means.

But hey.. anything for this baby.

Entry filed under: All Posts, Day by Day.

7 wks, 2 days: No more shots! IF and coping with the Holidays

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Inglewood  |  December 19, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    Did you see the heartbeat through an abdominal u/s?

    You have a great attitude. It does seem all surreal doesn’t it. So excited for you.

    Reply
  • 2. Lut C.  |  December 20, 2006 at 1:12 pm

    Glad to hear things are moving along nicely.

    Reply
  • 3. Jys  |  December 20, 2006 at 11:15 pm

    Hey ladies, queasy as we speak.
    Inglewood, no it was a trans-vag u/s. I think its still about a couple weeks till you can detect with abdominal if I’m not wrong.
    And yes, very surreal still. Somehow I still find it hard to really believe it at times.

    Lut, great to see you! Checking out your blog next.

    Reply
  • 4. MARIA  |  June 9, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    How to Lose 20 pounds in 2 weeks, without too much effort healthmad.com/weight-loss/prepare-for-celebration-lose-20pounds-in-two-weeks/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 79,963 hits

