Beta

June 8, 2009 at 2:40 pm 4 comments

Why are the days of betas so nerve wracking?
I got up and peed into a cup just in case (even though I did not test) – I figured, if my result is delaying too long, I might test again just to reassure myself of a deepening line. But peeing is becoming expensive!
I told DH, as he made me breakfast while I hurried to get out the door that I am really hoping for a number of at least 100. I figured, a hpt detects 25 units and since I had a positive on Thursday, that means it should have been that much that day, and doubled to 50 by Saturday to double again to 100 by today. Not that I wouldn’t be happy with a number smaller than that – just that I would *hope* it is at least 100. And I was too scared to even hope that much. After all, my first beta with DD was 50.
Speaking of DD, she was still asleep, but I was determined to give her a kiss before leaving for good luck. Afterall, maybe she and this embie have some sort of connection being conceived at the same time and all, and I needed some good luck from her. So DH had to lift her out of her crib, still asleep, so I could steal my kiss before running out the door.

I got to the office at about 8:45am. When I was called in, the nurse told me right away congratulations (since they already knew that I had tested positive at home from back when I called on Friday) and told me I am free and clear to resume all normal activities (exercising as long as my heartrate doesn’t go over 140bpm, sex – yippee, and whatever else). I should just continue all my meds and then come back in again on Wednesday for a repeat beta. although I wouldn’t know the results till Thursday. It took a moment to process that, but then it sank in that on Wednesdays their office is only open half day – that’s right! So I would have yet another day of anxiety before finding out – that sux. But I guess, better than with DD – that time the period over the 2nd beta fell over the Thanksgiving break so I could not get a second beta till a whopping 6 days later.

Oh well… all the more reason to hope for a beta of at least 100 to give me SOME reassurance.

The nurse gave me the list of medications to take while pregnant and sent me off to the lab. This time the lab was totally empty. Just me.

They called me in real quick and this time it was a different nurse – not the chatty first one. I told her she should be my lucky nurse and give me a good beta, to which she laughed.
Very quickly, it was done and I was off to work.

Needless to say, I didn’t get much done there. My mind oscillated from thinking about pregnancy and all its implications, to worrying about my beta result and praying it would be good.
I figured I’ll get the call around 4pm and planned my day to make sure I was clear and free to receive a phone call at that time.

I met with DH for lunch and we sat talking about this and that when suddenly the phone rang and the caller ID showed it was the doctors office. It was 2:05pm. My heart about flipped. I said a super quick prayer, grabbing on tight to DH’s hand before picking up.

The nurse talked to me in a calm voice and for a moment I thought oh God… is it bad news. But then she said – we got your result and everything looks great. Really??!
Beta: 177.
YES!!!!!!
And progesterone at 36.6. She said all that looks good and to continue taking any meds I’m on and just come back in on Wednesday as planned.

I felt giddy. it was like finding out all over again. I suddenly couldn’t wipe the smile off my face. So much so that I had to have her repeat all the information cause my bird brain was already mixing it all up, simple as it was.
We hung up and that was that! I’m officially PREGNANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I don’t know what to say other than that I will try to enjoy every minute of it and try not to think too far ahead. One day at a time. I’m bursting to tell immediate family, but I know that’s just giddy me – we will wait for our second beta at the very least and possibly later.

DH and I went to a baby store nearby just to process the news and hang out for a little bit until lunch was over. I was giddy the whole time. I guess it doesn’t matter how many times it happens in your life. It is always such BIG news. And incredible news. It’s truly a special moment. And even though it is just the beginning of a load of worry and stress and many other things – for many many years – when you take it one moment at a time, it is truly a happy day to find out that all this awaits you.

Entry filed under: 1.

One reason to look forward to the end of the weekend… 2nd Beta Day

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pj  |  June 8, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    squeeeeel!!! That’s a fantastic number! I totally was impatient and scrolled down to read the number, before reading your post! Cause I cheat like that. 🙂

    You’re a good influence on my jaded heart:)

    YAY!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Jys  |  June 8, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Haha, pj, I would have done the same thing 🙂 I had to write it all down to document the day, but I totally get scrolling down to see what the result was!!
    And congrats on your doubling beta – awesome!

    Reply
  • 3. Flower  |  June 9, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Hooray!!!That is a high number….I can’t wait for your results on Wednesday. God bless ya!

    Reply
  • 4. Lut C.  |  June 9, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Fabulous news! That’s an excellent start.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 79,261 hits

