22 Weeks – pregnancy is flying…

October 11, 2009 at 9:03 am 6 comments

I had meant to post an update on the half way point, and before I knew it, it has been two weeks since then. Shows you how much time is just flying. I am 22 weeks today, and decided to make an update first thing in the morning before another 2 weeks fly by.

How am I doing? Well, so far so good. Purely with regards to pregnancy, things are coasting so far, although I am definitely paranoid about developing any complications down the line. Just because my first pregnancy was textbook and uneventful doesn’t mean I have come to expect thing kind of blessing each time.
Where it comes to the emotional side of pregnancy, a good way to say it is that I am feeling very robbed of really being able to appreciate this miracle with the attention and wonder it deserves. My life is packed busy, and lots of times, I mourn the fact that I am unable to just sit there and stare at my tummy with a loving gaze and dream about the baby – instead I am just horrified at how quickly the time is flying and how quickly it is running out. I try as much as I can to devote time to just “enjoy every minute”, but the truth is, every minute of mine is in high demand with 500 million things on my plate, and one toddler. I feel sad because chances are I may never be pregnant again. And this is my 2nd trimester – the best of them all typically – I SHOULD be spending time appreciating this moment every second that I have.

Well, so here I am writing to make sure I do that. I do have to say that no matter how busy I am, I don’t forget to think about this blessing. Even if I dont have too much time to stop and just obsess over it, I do always know in the back of my mind what a precious blessing this is. And for that reason, I try to ignore the fact that I have gained way more than I had wanted so far – about 20 lbs. I know I will have serious work to get my body back once the baby comes. Unfortunately, there has not been any time to exercise. I often lament that if pregnancy was ALL I had on my plate, I would certainly incorporate that into my life. As it turns out, unfortunately, it is one of the first things to fly out the window with everything else that needs to fit into the day.

So far though the baby seems to be doing great and is healthy 🙂 Yesterday, I lay in bed at night and enjoyed a wonderful session of kicking. I got DH to put his hand on my tummy and at first (of course) the baby quitetened down immediately. But when we gave up waiting and DH took his hand away, soon enough the action started back up. So I got DH to put his hand back and sure enough he felt 3 solid kicks one after another. It truly is amazing that there is a baby in there – in a way, it hasn’t really hit me!
I am trying to prepare – or at least have a game plan of how/when to prepare for the big arrival – there is certainly fewer things to do than the first time around, but they are there none-the-less. WIth the crazy holiday season coming up right smack in the middle of things, I don’t want to wait until it is too far into it.
I have a doctors appointment last week and somewhere around there potentially my last ultrasound for this pregnancy (barring anything going wrong). It seems that we have solidly decided to go all the way and find out the gender at birth. At times I wonder if I should do it differently this time – just to try out both ways. But I also fear wishing I had waited till birth for the big surprise – I have to admit, the first time around, this was such a special moment that I cannot imagine anything more perfect. And after all, after the baby is born, I will know the gender the rest of my life. Most people find out, and they all gasp saying how on earth will I “prepare” without knowing. truthfully, that matters the least to me – not that much preparation for the second one, sicne we already have everything – and in gender neutral colors too, since we didn’t find out the first time either. Diapers are unisex the last time I checked. What else is there? Truthfully, within a few minutes that we found out that DD is a girl we were buried in pink anyway. Whatever our new little one is going to be isn’t going to mean that they will be denied any gender specific stuff.

The harder part is having to come up with two names (we’re pretty solid on a girl so far, but still struggling with a boy’s name) and also it seems that it would be nice to refer to the baby as he or she, and speak with a concrete gender when talking to our toddler about her new sibling on the way. In perspective though, it doesn’t matter – I don’t think she is gonna totally get the concept (hey, its hard enough for adults) until the baby is really here. And the terms “brother”, or “sister” do not mean much to her either. The word “baby” is about the closest she comes to truly understanding what is being talked about. So maybe I should drop my slight undecisiveness and just enjoy every minute of waiting for the big surprise. DH is solid – he definitely wants to wait for the big day.

Well, wish me luck. Hopefully I will start updating more frequently, even if they are small posts, and doing better at making time to enjoy this wonderful period of the making of our new baby. 🙂

Entry filed under: 1.

Baby kicks and more….. Posting from Labor and Delivery

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lut C.  |  October 11, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Time flies between all the demands of adult life. I’m glad to hear all is well so far.

    We have lots of gender neutral stuff too. So far all we can do with it is lend it out, but hopefully some day we’ll reuse it ourselves.

    Reply
  • 2. Flower  |  October 11, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Time is flying. So glad everything is going well with you and the pregnancy. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  October 13, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Glad to hear the good news. Good luck with the rest of the pregnancy.

    Reply
  • 4. how to conceive a girl naturally  |  July 4, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    What’s up it’s me, I am alkso visiting this ebsite regularly, this
    web site is really nice and the visitors are genuinely sharfing fastidious
    thoughts.

    Reply
  • 5. web design new york  |  August 15, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    It’s in reality a great and helpful piece of info.
    I’m satisfied that you simply shared this useful info with us.

    Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for
    sharing.

    Reply
  • 6. Lashonda  |  September 14, 2014 at 4:03 am

    Instead we suffer from it, by storing too much fat and rarely, if ever, burning it.
    In contrast to high priced drugs and medical care, the improvement dietetic therapy is free of charge.

    It was well known that oats were grown, stored, milled and packaged with wheat products are were typically
    very contaminated with gluten.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 79,626 hits

