Sex to get UNpregnant?

February 12, 2010 at 1:26 pm 1 comment

Things have been really ironic around here these days. Every day is the same, I am heavily pregnant and waiting for any kind of “concrete” sign that I am going into real labor. The irony is, I’m experiencing the waiting game during ansy moments like wishing to go into labor when my favorite doctor is on call, or hoping that the big day will not end up being Valentine’s day – somehow I would rather baby has his/her own special day for a birthday  – especially when  we ironically picked up this embryo exactly when we did (it could have been any time after all).

In my doctor’s office on Monday, when I expressed my surprise that the baby hadn’t been born already, and cautiously refused to have my membranes shifted, since I wanted to wait for everything to happen in its own time, she suggested that I go home and have lots of sex. What irony. Ha. I’ve heard that one before. Go home and have lots of sex, and it should lead to what you are trying to achieve. Didn’t work for me in terms of GETTING pregnant, so why would it work now to get me “un”pregnant? 🙂 lol

Still, I’ve dutifully tried. Sex is afterall lots more fun and seemingly “natural”  than some procedure in the office as we all know. But why as I expected, lots of sex has gotten me nowhere. This baby just isn’t checking out.

As I go into the weekend, I suddenly feel like I’m definitely going to have the baby on Valentine’s day, just because this is what I’d rather wasn’t the case.

I shake my head thinking – at first this was a timing issue of getting my period to show up on time in order for transfer of embryos to be feasible and for things to not fall on weekends where I would have to miss cycles and such. Now its a different dance of hoping the right doctors are on call and things preferably don’t fall on special occasions and all of that. And in both cases, I have absolutely no control, and sex doesn’t work.

I guess we’ll see what happens. So far there are no signs of labor in the least. Only those constant braxton contractions that I have been having for over a week and am totally used to now. I won’t even predict or try to use instinct on what will happen anymore, but I’ll just say that I’ll guess Valentine’s day … it is my due date after all. And while I never expected to reach it, I guess one thing I need to know by now from all my experiences, it is to always expect the unexpected.

Entry filed under: 1.

My Longest Pregnancy Ever? Valentine’s Day: 40 weeks! And counting?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lut C.  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    I think if you google ‘prostaglandine’ you’ll find the answer of why it’s supposed to help.

    I can imagine you would find that suggestion rather ironic. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 79,261 hits

