Valentine’s Day: 40 weeks! And counting?

February 14, 2010 at 11:57 pm 4 comments

With 15 minutes left to go before midnight I think it might be pretty safe to say I’m not going to have a Valentine’s Day birthday here after all.

I am 40 weeks today! A milestone I have made for the very first time. It is actually strange to sit here thinking – this is my due date. And to go past it. I guess every pregnancy IS different, and it is interesting to have it go a different way for a change.

I feel like the baby has grown to a whole new level size-wise. The night before last (Friday night) in the evening the baby started moving with such big and strong movements that it was excruciatingly painful to stand or move during that time at all. On that particular night I even got concerned that maybe the baby is too active and behaving in a frantic manner. I even spent some time looking it up. But now it has been happening every night since, in the same fashion. I think baby is just much larger than anything I’ve ever had to carry in the past. After all, I am in uncharted territory right now.

I feel now like the baby just isn’t going to come out. Silly as it might seem, the only reason I simply KNOW the baby will, is because I have the scheduled induction one way or another. I am wondering whether to try to push that date now (I never even thought about it twice in the past because I never thought I’d make it to that day). But on the other hand, when I think about the size of the baby I wonder if it will be wise to just go for induction after all if I haven’t delivered by that day. I’m WAY uncomfortable these days and the pain against my cervix is something else when baby is moving if I am trying to walk at that time. And its not like I’ll get any brownie points for waiting longer – baby will still be zero days old on the day of birth. I hope things will happen sponteneously before the induction, but we’ll just have to see at this point. I’m not guessing on anything anymore, that’s for sure.

At least today I got to RELAX. Forget all the honey-dos and all the productivity – I decided, I simply need a day of rest. Since Dh was home, he helped out with DD quite a bit and did all the cooking and cleaning, while I spent a good part of the day simply relaxing in a recliing chair – *bliss*! After all, when will I get to do this again? And in all honesty, I have to appreciate the magnitude of work and responsibility that I will be faced wtih in just a few more days or even hours when I will for the first time in my life have both a toddler AND a newborn to care for and be thrown back into breastfeeding every 2 to 3 hours and weeks of sleepless nights, not to mention recovery from birth. Yes, I think a relaxing day was well deserved today.

I will just celebrate the fact that I am 40 weeks pregnant today on my due date that happens to be the special day of Valentine’s as well. 40 weeks, and who’s counting anyway! 🙂

Entry filed under: 1.

Sex to get UNpregnant? My baby is in my arms! (the long overdue update)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  February 15, 2010 at 8:05 am

    The baby will come…and probably in just days, like you said. I’m so glad you got a day of rest for V-day…you will be glad you did with those sleepless nights awaiting. Congrats on hitting 40 weeks…holy moly!!!

    Reply
  • 2. flower  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Man…I really thought you were about to say that you had the baby…..KUP

    Reply
  • 3. Lut C.  |  February 15, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Smart move to take a day of rest now. Nice present for Valentine’s day too.

    Reply
  • 4. PJ  |  February 21, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Methinks you might have delivered! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expecting Number 2… :)

My TTC History

Started TTC May 2005
RE diagnosed as unexplained in Feb 06.
natural IUI #1 March 06 - BFP, m/c :(
natural IUI #2 May 06 - BFN
clomid IUI #3 July 06 - BFN
femara IUI #4 August 06 - BFN

Skipping suggested injectables,
moving to IVF
Bloodwork: Oct 12 for lupron
ER estimated 1st week of Nov

UPDATE:
25 eggs, 15 fertilized.
1 blast transferred, 6 frozen.
Precious baby Girl born in July 07.

After 2.5 years of Bliss since that BFP...

April 2009: Start of TTC #2.
(Going back for the embies I left)
Apr 15: Start of Natural FET cycle.
May 1: Transferred single blast
May 11: BFN :(
Straight to Natural FET #2
May 29: Transferred single blast
June 4: BFP!!!!
June 8: 1st beta - 177
June 10: 2nd beta - 506


UPDATE:
Healthy baby Boy born 2010!

Fast forward several years...

June 2013: Surprised with a completely natural and completely unplanned BFP!
February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 79,647 hits

